Peerage Orders

In the Society for Creative Anachronism, according to various sections of Corpora (the governing documents), Peers may refer to either a:

  • Royal Peer: An individual who has reigned as King or Queen, or as Prince or Princess of a principality, is referred to as a Royal Peer.
  • Peerage: Collectively, the members of the Order of Chivalry, the Order of the Laurel, the Order of the Pelican and the Order of Defense are referred to as the Peerage. A member of any of these Orders is a Peer.

Section IV.G.2 states: “The Crown may elevate subjects to the Peerage by granting membership in one of the Orders conferring a Patent of Arms, after consultation with the members of the Order within the Kingdom, and in accordance with the laws and customs of the kingdom. Restriction: to advance a candidate to the Order of Knighthood, a Knight of the Society must bestow the accolade.”

Section VIII.A.4 states: “The following institutions are established for all kingdoms in the Society. A Patent of Arms may be conferred only upon a person being admitted into one of these orders” and defines:

  1. The Chivalry
  2. The Order of the Laurel
  3. The Order of the Pelican
  4. The Order of Defense

Each of the links above take you to the website for the Lochac chapter of each Order.